A Career as an Aircraft Mechanic – Where to find Work

Aircraft Mechanic Jobs & Opportunities

Aircraft mechanic jobs are the focus of the following video from ATEC. Produced in 2008, the promising growth of this career has been confirmed over the course of the last 3 years.

As an example of a typical line maintenance job, the following video provides a job scenario of an aircraft mechanic, in this case the mechanic is performing an Airbus A320 nose landing gear wheel removal / installation.

Easy work!

Where can aircraft mechanics look online to find advertised jobs ?

The table below highlights some useful job search websites for aircraft mechanic jobs. Just follow any link to these listed job sites and peruse some currently available job openings.

Aircraft Mechanic Job Board Link
Simply Hired http://www.simplyhired.com/a/jobs/list/q-aircraft%2Bmechanic
Aviation Employment http://www.aviationemployment.com/see_all_jobs
Aircraft Mechanic Jobs with Aerotek http://aviation.aerotek.com/aviation-jobs/aircraft-mechanic.jobs
Career Builder aircraft mechanic jobs http://www.careerbuilder.com/jobs/keyword/aircraft%2Bmechanic
Federal Government jobs – aircraft mechanic http://federalgovernmentjobs.us/job-search/aircraft-mechanic-8852.html
Airplane and Aircraft .com http://www.airplane-and-aircraft.com/aircraft-mechanic-jobs.html
Monster.com aircraft mechanic jobs http://jobs.monster.com/v-aeronautics-q-aircraft-mechanic-jobs.aspx
Aircraft Mechanic Jobs http://aircraftmechanicjobs.org/
Best Aviation.net Jobs http://www.bestaviation.net/mechanic-jobs/
JS firm Aviation Jobs http://www.jsfirm.com/
Thingamajob aircraft mechanic jobs http://aviation.thingamajob.com/C-Aircraft-mechanic-0.aspx
Plane Techs http://www.planetechs.com/
Aviation Crossing jobs http://http://www.aviationcrossing.com/

A rough sampling of job seekers recommends “Simply Hired,” JS firm, “Aviation Employment” and “Plane Techs” as being thorough and useful job boards.

From a random review of several current openings, one can assess the robustness of the aircraft mechanic job market. As of mid-year 2011, if one is interested in a range of jobs with salaries from $40,000 and upwards, it appears the market is robust and will stay that way for some time to come.

Of course, for someone who has graduated from any of the 170+ FAA approved aircraft mechanic schools,  job placement services are also available from their training school.

For a breakdown of where aircraft mechanic jobs are located state-by-state, see the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) section on aircraft mechanic occupational outlook.

Some concluding thoughts on aircraft mechanic jobs

For a realistic appraisal of what aviation employers are looking for in terms of aircraft mechanic jobs, please see http://www.jobmonkey.com/airline/html/aviation_mechanic.html . From this page, a hiring manager has given some advice to job candidates:

“We’re not looking for someone who just has a piece of paper and the tools to do the job and the willingness to work in a team atmosphere. Basically an individual has to be highly motivated. It’s so competitive. We are looking for people who show enthusiasm and have a good attitude. We want someone who is dedicated and motivated to give us what we need to keep things going well.”

email